Love

Love. That delicious, delectable piece of gum that has been chewed on and on and is yet to lose its flavour. It’s tangy, it makes your jaws hurt…all the same, it seems to be a shame to spit it out when there is a bit more of it to be savoured.

And now you know how my 7thStandard English teacher felt when she had to read my term paper on ‘metaphors’.

But honestly, I know not why I find this particular emotion this fascinating all of a sudden. It’s not like I have never had to deal with it face to face ever before. Life has always been filled with love – it came in all shapes, all sizes, wrapped up in blinding bright wrappers (Erm…ok. I hear you. Enough with the metaphors!) So, frankly speaking, it baffles me why I woke up one particular morning feeling like I’ve been missing on one of the most deliberated emotions in the world.

Which is how I ended up in front of my PC, staring at the Google page, trying to figure out what exactly I should Google. This state of complete inaction proceeded for around 10 long minutes before I gave in and typed, tentatively, “Love” in the search bar. All I was expecting was a clear-cut definition. In retrospect, I recognize the inexplicable lameness of that action. And it didn’t help one bit that my achan chose the exact moment to pass by. He took one glance, did a double take and gave me an embarrassingly amused look that clearly said (if looks could speak) “‘Aah…so this is why I pay up for internet. So that my teenage daughter can look up looove”.

Now that my ‘look-it-up-on-the-internet’ plan proceeded to be an epic flop, I proceeded to the next best thing that I do – badger people that I share a rapport with a series of intrusive, not to mention completely inappropriate questions.  Most of them, I’m pleased to report, were responded to in kind – with equally inappropriate answers. A few, who’ve played the part of my guinea pigs time and again, assumed a resigned air. A few even told me to Google the phrase ‘minding your own business’ before bowing down to my considerable charm (Dear reader, you are requested to refrain from saying “I highly doubt that!”)

Before I proceed, let me take a moment to clear the air. As I sit down to pen this post, I am one hundred percent aware that I have nothing to write on love or being in love that hasn’t already been written. (And a lot of it quite beautifully too.) The one thing I noticed while conversing with my ‘test subjects’ is that while the words that each used to describe the love of their lives were diverse, the feel in the air was identical. Every single time. How many different ways are there to describe a specific emotion?

That being said, some people stroll in, equipped with such interesting angles which you find so beautiful and logical that you can’t help but agree with it. I’m someone who is irritatingly scornful of the invariably nonsensical elements that constitute a romantic relationship. I don’t understand it and I probably never will. And instead of accepting that clichéd actions and dialogues (clichéd in my eyes, i.e.) are an inevitable part of a doting relationship, I tend to ridicule or scoff at these aspects. Once, when I shared this tendency of mine with my brother, he countered my claims of “relationships always turn out to be so cheesy!” with a beautifully crafted response the gist of which was that ‘Yes, being in love makes you do corny stuff. You keep calling her 20 times a day and texting her every 5 minutes. You fight and patch up umpteen times in a single day for reasons that seem juvenile, to put it politely. You become possessive, demanding, emotional…essentially, you change when you are with her. But that, my dear, is the whole point. Of all the thousands of people that you’ve interacted with in your entire life, it is with just one person that you display such a wide range of emotions. Your best and worst, without filtering. If that isn’t special, then what is?’

One of the best movies revolving around love or connection was portrayed in the trilogy Before Sunrise, Before Sunset & Before Midnight. 120 hours of intelligent conversation. Banter that tackles world issues, personal exploration, likes and dislikes all in a course of a single night. Mesmerizing thoughts captured in beguiling words – never have I been more in love with the idea of love than when I saw Before Sunrise. And that was what assured me that perhaps I am not the only person who is so confused and ill-equipped to deal with the worries of the world.

As Jesse, the male protagonist remarks,

If there’s any kind of magic in this world, it must be in the attempt of understanding someone, sharing something. I know, it’s almost impossible to succeed, but…who cares, really? The answer must be in the attempt.”

4 thoughts on “Love

  1. Ok, I take back that comment on the FB thread! I don't know what idiotic notion made me think you would not have heard of the third part! I got it downloaded, with a link shared by another staunch fan of the trilogy, but have yet to go beyond the 30 min mark (fascinated though I was – but had to take a break when my doggies vied for attention 😛 ) as I am building up to wanting to see it with the right mood 🙂

    But yes, no movie I have seen beats these three for the sheer depth and intelligence and profundity of conversation. How just two people, and conversation can carry a film is to be seen. Of course, it had to be love!

    Love ed this post too!

  2. I owe you one for bringing to my notice about the 3rd part of the trilogy 🙂 Before sunset ended on a perfect note and I thought there wshouldn't be a 3rd part, but let's see! One of the reasons the movies bewitch you is because both Ehan Hawke and Julie Delpy wrote most of the dialogues and a significant portion of the scenes filmed were spontaneous !

  3. “No movie I have seen beats these three for the sheer depth and intelligence and profundity of conversation.”

    Same here Ma'm! You've put it so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

